The 1920s
Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.
See the Primary Sources tab above for an explanation and a listing of primary sources for general U.S. resources.
The following are specific to the 1920s:
UXL Encyclopedia of U. S. History, 8 v.
Introduces the timeline of America: its founders, key historical figures, wars, events, political environment, economy, and culture.
Dictionary of American History
Encyclopedia of World Biography
American National Biography
Contains alphabetically arranged articles that provide biographical information about men and women whose lives and careers have influenced the course of American history, focusing on the key achievements of individuals who died before 1996; each with a descriptive bibliography.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency1921-1925 Timeline 1926-1930 Timeline
Includes international affairs, US politics and government, companies and inventions, and humanities and the arts (Duke University)
Covers many topics on U.S.history (University of Houston)
Online collection content searchable by topic or time period
Provides videos, interesting articles, pictures, historical features and more (History Channel
Remember:
To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:
America in the Twentieth Century
American Decades, 10 v.
A decade-by-decade exploration of American life in the twentieth century, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts and many other areas.
American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945
This guide presents differing perspectives on 20th-century political and social movements drawn from all parts of the world.
The 1920's
The Roaring Twenties 
American Heritage Magazine - one of the oldest and most respected popular U.S. history magazines, provides high quality writing on the American experience. (Located on the lower shelves of the 973 AME section. Use the navy blue master index volume to find an article.)
Working Americans, 1880-1999
Describes economic trends in America from 1880 through 1999 and profiles thirty-four families from a wide variety of time periods, geographical settings, ethnic backgrounds, and economic classes, describing their annual incomes and budgets as well as their lives at home, at work, and in the community.
The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Recounts the events, movements, court cases, documents, and important figures that make up women's history in America since colonial times, with over five hundred entries arranged in alphabetical order.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture, 4 v.
Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
For Appearance' Sake: Historical Encyclopedia of Good Looks, Beauty...
Presents more than three hundred alphabetized entries on people, companies, and topics related to grooming and attractiveness around the world.
A History of Great Inventions
The Britannica Guide to Inventions That Changed the Modern World
Discusses various inventions and innovations that have proven to be useful or crucial to development in modern times, covering areas such as communication; transportation; power and energy; building construction and civil engineering; medicine; military technology; observation and measurement; and agriculture and industry.
The Book of Invention
A chronological look at the inventions that have change human life. Each entry spans two pages with text and images.
Encyclopedia of Advertising
Selected color plates complement entries on major advertising agencies and classic campaigns. There is also substantive coverage of issues such as the representation of women and ethnic minorities as well as professional ethics. 4 v.
Jazz: A History of America's Music
Traces the history of jazz music from its origins in New Orleans through the twentieth century, and looks at the lives and contributions of some of the genre's greatest composers and performers.
The Oxford History of World Cinema
Traces the history of the cinema as an industry and as popular art, chronicling over 100 years of achievement, and looking at all aspects of its development, stars, studios, and cultural impact throughout the world.
The New York Times Encyclopedia of Sports by
Traces the history of various indoor and outdoor sports as presented in articles appearing in the "New York Times."
Lincoln Library of Sports Champions, 9th Ed.
Presents brief, alphabetically arranged biographies of great sports personalities, past and present, from around the world. Features a table of contents arranged by sport and indexes by athlete, place of birth, women athletes, and by era. 14 v.
The African American Encyclopedia
Features entries on people, organizations, landmarks, professions, entertainment, military activity, religion, family life, politics, court cases, cultural movements, and other facets of life that have a unique expression among African Americans.
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms
A 5 volume set, describes examples of the commerce, fashion, film and theater, food and drink, music, print works, sports and games, and other markers of popular culture in America during the twentieth century, and includes topical and alphabetized tables of contents and a chronology spanning 1900-1999.
Daily Life in the United States, 1920-1939 by
During the 1920s and 1930s, changes in the American population, increasing urbanization, and innovations in technology exerted major influences on the daily lives of ordinary people. Explore how everyday living changed during these years when use of automobiles and home electrification first became commonplace, when radio emerged, and when cinema, with the addition of sound, became broadly popular. Find out how worklife, domestic life, and leisure-time activities were affected by these factors as well as by the politics of the time. Details of matters such as the creation of the pickup truck, the development of radio programming, and the first mass use of cosmetics provide an enjoyable read that brings the period clearly into focus. Centering its attention on the broad masses of the population, this animated reference resource emphasizes the wide variety of experiences of people living through The Roaring Twenties and The Great Depression. Readers will be surprised to discover that some of the assumptions we have about the lives of average Americans during these eras are historically inaccurate. A final chapter provides a unique look at six American communities and gives a vivid sense of the diversity of American experience over the course of these tumultuous years.