Nashua North Media Center: English 2: 1984

George Orwell 1903-1950

Recommended Databases

American History (ABC-Clio)
Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
EBSCO (Ebsco) Magazine and newspaper articles on a wide variety of subjects. Includes Explora plus academic, business DBs and ERIC.
Britannica School Online Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.
World History: Modern Era (ABC-Clio) In-depth coverage of the history of all regions of the world from 1500 to the present. Includes primary and secondary sources, illustrations, maps, etc. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.

E-References

Novels for Students - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Each volume provides discussions of the literary and historical background of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes concise synopses of plot, characters and themes, a brief author biography, discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance, and excerpted criticism.
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2004 - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed.

Suggested Websites

Amnesty International A global movement of more than 7 million people who campaign for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all.
Human Rights Watch An international non-governmental organization that provides news, analysis and resources from human rights perspective.
Human Rights Campaign

Library Catalog

Reference Books

The Constitution and Its Amendments
Call Number: 342.7303 CON
Encyclopedia of World Biography Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. 17 v.
Call Number: 920 ENC
Freedom in the World 2021 Freedom in the World is the standard-setting comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties. The methodology of this survey is derived in large measure from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and these standards are applied to all countries and territories.
Call Number: 323.11 FRE 2021

ISBN: 9781538151822
Encyclopedia Americana
Call Number: 031 AME
Landmark Supreme Court Cases Features more than six hundred important and influential cases in United States history, and includes summaries and analyses of cases on such issues as freedom of speech, freedom of the press, civil rights, labor unions, abortion, due process, search and seizure, executive privilege, and more.
Call Number: 347.73 LEI
U-X-L Encyclopedia of U. S. History
Call Number: 973.03 BEN
Novels for Students
Call Number: 809.3 NOV

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Possible Topics

Totalitarianism
Censorship
Surveillance (Lack of Privacy)
Propaganda
Language (Doublespeak/Newspeak)
Revisionist History
Indoctrination of the Youth

Website Evaluation

Always check for a website's authority, content, currency and purpose before using it for a research project. Use the following checklist to make sure you're getting high-quality information from a reliable source:

Website Evaluation Checklist