Business Law
Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.
For the Library Catalog
For Gale in Context: High School
Issues on Trials Series
Animal Welfare
This book introduces your readers to major court cases and rulings that have shaped our experience of animal welfare. Each case is explained, then supported by essays that explain the majority and dissenting opinions. Essay sources such as Thurgood Marshall explain rulings related to animal welfare advocates. Harvard Law Review explains that human plaintiffs can act as proxies for animals in lawsuits. Ruth Bader Ginsburg explains that defense considerations do not authorize the Navy to violate the law. By examining the legal issues around animal welfare, readers will be able to develop their own intelligent viewpoints on this topic.
Cybercrime
Empower your readers with a legally-focused examination of the topic of cybercrime. Major court cases and rulings are examined. Background information is provided, then supporting majority and dissenting opinions are shared. Further essays by legal experts explain how each ruling has impacted society. The first case covers ISPs and identity. The second case concerns the right to privacy in relation to personal computers. The third case discusses prescription drugs and the Internet. The four case covers The PROTECT Act. The last case discusses antispam laws. Essay sources include Anita Ramasastry, Douglas H. Ginsburg, David Carney, and Antonin Scalia.
Disability Rights (Issues on Tril
Do something.org has found that of today's 20 year-olds, just over 1 in 4 will become disabled before they retire. This topic will touch your reader's life at some point. This book presents a different kind of examination of disability. It examines four major court cases that have shaped our experience of the rights of the disabled. Readers are introduced to each case through background information, discussion on the ruling, and majority and dissenting opinions. Further essays explain the impact that each case has had on society. The first case covers restricting the rights of manifestly unfit peoples to reproduce. The second case covers defining free and appropriate education for children of all abilities. Affirming the rights of disabled people to participate in community life is covered in the third case. The fourth case covers ensuring equal access to public places. This book meets the academic demand for reliable information tied to law and social sciences.
Mental Health
This guidebook examines how major decisions by U.S. courts have helped to shape the issue of mental illness. A major case is explained, then majority and dissenting opinions are shared. Legal experts and other professionals then provide details on the case's lasting impact. Chapter one is about whether parents can commit children to mental institutions without their consent. Chapter two covers forcible medication practices. Chapter three defines the rights of institutionalized patients. Chapter four covers the right to live and receive treatment while being a part of the community.
The Minimum Wage
This volume captures the passion and depth of debates over the minimum wage, and examines how the courts have helped to shape minimum wage through their rulings. It presents primary source materials like the text of court rulings and dissenting opinions, as well as analysis and opinion on the rulings. Readers will evaluate the declaration of minimum wage laws as a violation of liberty of contract, and whether minimum wage legislation is constitutional. They will learn the majority and dissenting opinions on the denial of fair labor standards and the upholding of states' rights. They will also evaluate the federalizing of the minimum wage.
Sex Discrimination
This intriguing book examines four Supreme Court rulings on sexual discrimination, providing dissenting opinions and related debate. The details of each case are shared in a comprehensive overview. Expert analysis is then offered in essays that will help readers view the decisions from many sides. Essay sources include Christine Basic, William J. Brennan Jr., William H. Rehnquist, Antonin Scalia,? and Dahlia Lithwick.
Other Books
Reproductive Rights
Throughout history, men and women have always found ways to control reproduction. In some ancient societies, people turned to herbs or traditional rituals. Others turned to methods that are still used in the twenty-first century, such as abstinence, condoms, and abortions. Legislating access to birth control, sex education, and abortion is also not new. In 1873 the US Congress made it illegal to mail 'obscene, lewd, or lascivious materials'--including any object designed for contraception or to induce abortion. In some states in the 1900s, it was illegal for Americans to possess, sell, advertise, or even speak about methods of controlling pregnancy. At the beginning of the twentieth century, Margaret Sanger, Mary Ware Dennett, and others began to defy these laws and advocate for the legalization of birth control and for better women's reproductive healthcare. By 1960 doctors had developed the Pill, but it wasn't until 1972 that all US citizens had legal access to birth control. And in the landmark decision Roe v Wade (1973), the US Supreme Court ruled that women had a constitutional right to terminate a pregnancy. Disputes over contraception, sex education, and abortion continue to roil the nation, leading to controversial legal and political rulings and occasionally violence. As society changes--and as new reproductive technologies expand the possibilities for controlling and initiating pregnancy--Americans will continue to debate reproductive rights for all.
Villains and Outlaws
Bring history to life with this unique collection featuring vivid profiles of famous people, places and historical events. Articles are selected with the curriculum in mind, and include newly written and selected articles from the distinguished Macmillan Reference USA collection. Rewritten for students starting at the middle school level each volume features a lively two-color design, photographs, quotes and fascinating sidebars.
Remember: