Nashua North Media Center: Civil Rights Movement: Home

Recommended Databases

American History (ABC-Clio) Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
Britannica School Online Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.
Ebsco's Explora Covering many topics, the interface for this database of magazine, newspaper and journal articles is designed for high school students.

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Suggested Websites

African American Odyssey This Library of Congress exhibit includes books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.
Civil Rights Movement Museum: Exhibiton The museum offers 260 artifacts, more than 40 new films, oral histories, interactive media and external listening posts that guide visitors through five centuries of history — from the beginning of the resistance during slavery, through the Civil War and Reconstruction, the rise of Jim Crow, and the seminal events of the late 20th century that inspired people around the world to stand up for equality.

Library Catalog

Primary Sources - Books

Examining Issues Through Political Cartoons: Civil Rights
Call Number: 323.1196073 CIV
Presents a representative selection of editorial cartoons on the topic of civil rights, each with background information and analysis, and includes an introductory essay, a bibliography, and references.

Primary Sources - Suggested Websites

This is just a small sampling of online resources:

100 Milestone Documents
This collection of 100 milestone documents has been compiled by the National Archives and chronicles the history of the U.S. from 1776 to 1965. Sources include public laws, Supreme Court decisions, inaugural speeches, treaties, constitutional amendments, and other documents that have influenced the course of U.S. history. Both original and transcribed copies are available.
Civil Rights Resource Guide- Library of Congress
Provides free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Browse collection by time period: 1900-1929.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Features more than 60,000 unique historical documents. It's strength is its History by Era and Primary Documents sections.
Jim Crow and Segregation (Library of Congress)
Presents popular views on, and the causes and effects of, the Jim Crow laws.
NAACP: A Century in the Fight for Freedom (Library of Congress)
Uses letters, photographs, maps and other materials to tell the story of America's oldest civil rights organization.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Contains over 13,000 audio and video files from public television and radio programs from the last sixty years.Strong exhibits on presidential elections and the civil rights movement.

eBook Resources

Black Power : Radical Politics and African American Identity
the two most important black nationalist organizations, the Nation of Islam and the Black Panther Party, gave voice and agency to the most economically and politically isolated members of black communities outside the South. Though vilified as fringe and extremist, these movements proved to be formidable agents of influence during the civil rights era, ultimately giving birth to the Black Power movement.
Goat Castle : A True Story of Murder, Race, and the Gothic South
In 1932, the city of Natchez, Mississippi, reckoned with an unexpected influx of journalists and tourists as the lurid story of a local murder was splashed across headlines nationwide. Strange, fascinating, and sobering, Goat Castle tells the story of this local feud, killing, investigation, and trial, showing how a true crime tale of fallen southern grandeur and murder obscured an all too familiar story of racial injustice.
African Americans and the First Amendment : The Case for Liberty and Equality
The first detailed examination of African Americans and First Amendment rights, from the colonial era to the present.African Americans and the First Amendment is the first book to explore in detail the relationship between African Americans and our “first freedoms,” especially freedom of speech.

Reference Books

The Civil Rights Movement (Eyewitness History) Contains excerpts from memoirs, diaries, letters, newspapers, speeches, advertisements, and other primary sources that provide eyewitness reports on the American civil rights movement, and features introductory essays, chronologies, period illustrations and photographs, and brief biographies of key individuals.
Call Number: 323.119607 WEK
Civil Rights Chronicle Chronicles the history of the civil rights movement in America from slavery to the present day and contains illustrated photographs, essays, and a timeline that documents such events as the Montgomery bus boycott, Freedom Rides, marches and sit-ins, and the Civil Rights and Voting Rights Act of the mid-1960s.
Call Number: 323.1196073 CIV
Civil Rights Presents a representative selection of editorial cartoons on the topic of civil rights, each with background information and analysis, and includes an introductory essay, a bibliography, and references
Call Number: 323.1196073 CIV
Encyclopedia of World Biography Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. 17 v.
Call Number: 920 ENC
American National Biography Contains alphabetically arranged articles that provide biographical information about men and women whose lives and careers have influenced the course of American history, focusing on the key achievements of individuals who died before 1996; each with a descriptive bibliography.
Call Number: 920.073 AME
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: 973.03 DIC
The African American Encyclopedia Features entries on people, organizations, landmarks, professions, entertainment, military activity, religion, family life, politics, court cases, cultural movements, and other facets of life that have a unique expression among African Americans.
Call Number: 973.049607 AFR
American Decades, 10 v. A decade-by-decade exploration of American life in the twentieth century, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts and many other areas.
Call Number: 973.9 Ame
Events That Changed America in the Twentieth Century Offers detailed descriptions and expert analysis of important 20th century events in America.
Call Number: 973.9 EVE
History in Dispute: American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000 Contains over thirty groups of essays, each of which includes an overview of an issue related to American social and political movements between 1945 and 2000, followed by two opposing opinions. Arranged alphabetically by topic.
Call Number: 973.91 HIS
U.S.A. Fifties Provides information on the people, events, political, social, economic, and cultural developments, technological advances, policies, and tragedies that shaped the 1950s.
Call Number: 973.921 USA
U. S. A. Sixties Presents over three hundred alphabetically arranged articles on the major events, personalities, and cultural forces in the United States during the 1960s, with maps and charts, short biographies, and a timeline
Call Number: 973.922 USA