Nashua North Media Center: Freshman Writing: Home

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Google v. Databases

Google v. Databases

Need Help Choosing a Topic?

Need help choosing a topic? Use SIRS Researcher's Leading Issues to get ideas.

Course Documents

Databases

A database is a large collection of articles from magazines, newspapers and academic journals and sometimes reference books. Some include recommended websites, video & audio clips, images, recommended websites, etc. This reliable information, written by experts, is well organized so that information can be easily found.

MOST COMMONLY USED BY FRESHMEN:

Britannica School Online This link opens in a new window Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,
Ebsco's Explora This link opens in a new window Covering many topics, the interface for this database of magazine, newspaper and journal articles is designed for high school students.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Magazine and newspaper articles on controversial issues, many in pro/con format. Excellent informational graphics
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) This link opens in a new window Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.

OTHER DATABASE OPTIONS:

American History (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
EBSCO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Magazine and newspaper articles on a wide variety of subjects. Includes Explora plus academic, business DBs and ERIC.
World Geography (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window Geographical, political, social, economic and cultural information on 200 countries plus maps and biographies. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
World History: Modern Era (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window In-depth coverage of the history of all regions of the world from 1500 to the present. Includes primary and secondary sources, illustrations, maps, etc. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.

Freshman Writing: Home

English

Cite Your Sources

Google v. Databases

Need Help Choosing a Topic?

Course Documents

Databases