Nashua North Media Center: Home Page: Databases

Databases at North

American History (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
Britannica School Online This link opens in a new window
Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources.
Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,
EBSCO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Magazine and newspaper articles on a wide variety of subjects. Databases included: Explora, Academic Search, Health Source, Topid Search, Professional Development, Newspaper Source, and eBooks.
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, academic journals, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc. covering most subject areas.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of E-references including The Encyclopedia of World Biography and Novels for Students.
Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 300 primary sources illustrating the progression and outcome of genocide, as well as first-hand accounts that depict its impact on societies and the lives of individuals. Covers 10 modern genocides in depth.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Magazine and newspaper articles on controversial issues, many in pro/con format. Excellent informational graphics
Teen Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
All content in Teen Health & Wellness is created for teens with their unique concerns and perspective in mind. Topics include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide and bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues, and more.
World Geography (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
Geographical, political, social, economic and cultural information on 200 countries plus maps and biographies. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
World History: Modern Era (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the history of all regions of the world from 1500 to the present. Includes primary and secondary sources, illustrations, maps, etc. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.

********************************************************************************************************************************************

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home. Please note you do need to be logged into your @nsd42.net account.

Online Databases vs. Google

Best Databases for...

Best for background information

Gale in Context

Best for biographies

Gale in Context
American History
World History: Modern Era

Best for controversial topics

SIRS Researcher
Gale in Context
EBSCO's Explora
EBSCO’s Topic Search

Best for informational graphics

SIRS Researcher

Best for scholarly journal articles

EBSCO's Academic Search Premier
Gale in Context

Best for literary criticism

Gale in Context
NPL’s databases

EBSCO Explora Tutorial

EBSCO Explora contains magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles on a wide variety of topics.

Research Topics Help

Need help choosing a topic? Use SIRS Researcher's Pro/Con Leading Issues

Research Topics List as of March 16, 2023

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Home Page: Databases

Databases