Progressive Era (1890 - 1920)
Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.
The following articles provide background information on the Progressive Era:
To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:
A number of women's associations cropped up during the Progressive Era. They included the Women's Christian Temperance Movement, pictured here in a protest c. 1909 in support of prohibition.
"A number of womens associations cropped up during the Progressive Era. They included the Womens..." Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Gale, 2015. Gale In Context: High School, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/PC3611087323/SUIC?u=nhais_hmnh&sid=SUIC&xid=608fd93b. Accessed 2 Oct. 2020.
Reform movements occur in response to social, political and economic problems and ideological movements at a given time. Research and analyze individuals and groups and their efforts to institute reform during the Progressive Era.
Remember:
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. 17 v.
American Women in the Progressive Era, 1900-1920
Chronicles two decades of American women and activities they participated in during the Progressive Era.
American National Biography
Contains alphabetically arranged articles that provide biographical information about men and women whose lives and careers have influenced the course of American history.
Dictionary of American History
Contains 4,434 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about the facts, events, trends, and policies of American history, covering political, economic, military, and social developments; and features a selection of primary documents, photographs, maps, and cross-references. 10 v.
Events That Changed America in the Twentieth Century
Offers detailed descriptions and expert analysis of important 20th century events in America.
American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945
Contains over thirty groups of essays, each of which includes an overview of an issue related to the historical events and trends of the first five decades of twentieth-century America, followed by two opposing opinions.
The Age of Reform and Industrialization, 1896-1920
Events around the turn of the twentieth century transformed the United States into a world power. Among other topics, this anthology provides insights into the Spanish-American War, the consequences of the Industrial Revolution, and America's involvement in World War I. The timeline structure gives readers a snapshot of America at any given moment and underscores the connections between seemingly unrelated events and developments. This book presents primary source documents, while secondary sources offer a more distanced, analytical perspective.
American Decades, 1900-1909
An exploration of American life from 1900 through 1909, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports.