Skip to Main Content
Media Archives
-
September 11 Web Archive
This archive from the Library of Congress collects websites from individuals, groups, the news media, and institutions in the U.S. and around the world in the aftermath of 9/11. Websites are organized by the producer's name, type, country, language, and subject.
-
The September 11 Digital Archive
This archive, a joint project of the Center for History and New Media and American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning, contains primary and secondary sources on the attack. Materials include stories, images, emails, documents, sounds, and videos of September 11.
-
Understanding 9/11: A Television News Archive
This project from the Internet Archive contains news coverage of the events of 9/11 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. The archive contains 3,000 hours of international TV News from 20 channels over 7 days, with select analysis by scholars.
-
Newseum: "Today's Front Pages"
This site contains the front page newspapers from September 12, 2001. Over 140 newspapers from 19 countries are included. The front pages are included both as images, and readable PDF files.
-
Remembering 9/11
Part of the Library of Congress collection, this site contains archived news footage, including monthly timelines, newspaper and magazine covers, photos, videos, and more.
-
911 Calls from September 11, 2001
This site from the Washington Post contains the complete written transcripts of telephone conversations between operators of the New York City Fire Department, and persons who called the 911 system on September 11, 2001. A few audio excerpts are included.
Library of Congress
-
September 11, 2001: Documentary Project
This project, curated by the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, documents America's reaction to the events of 9/11. Material includes a portion of the interviews, graphic items, and narratives from the main collection.
-
Witness and Response: September 11 Acquisitions at the Library of Congress
This exhibition features eyewitness accounts and commentaries regarding events surrounding the attacks of 9/11. Materials are organized by sections of the library and include prints, photographs, drawings, poems, eye-witness accounts and personal reactions, headlines, books, magazines, songs, maps, videotapes and films.
September 11 Maps
-
September 11, 2001 Maps
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at The University of Texas at Austin contains maps, schematics, and aerial photographs of the attacks.
The 9/11 Commission Report
-
9-11 Commission Report
This site contains the full account of circumstances surrounding the 9/11 attacks, from the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States.
