Nashua North Media Center: Supreme Court Landmark Cases: Home

Recommended Databases

American History (ABC-Clio) Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.

Type case name (such as Roe v. Wade) in Search box. Look at Reference articles then limit results list by Subject by selecting the case name. If needed, you can further limit results by Topic Overview and Event Overview.

Britannica School Online Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.

Suggested Websites

United States Courts: Legal Landmarks
Provides a thumbnail sketch of historically significant cases.
Cornell Legal Information Institute
View a case synopsis, and read the full text of the opinions and the dissents associated with that case. Look for the case By Party Name.
Supreme Court of the United States
Official page of the United States Supreme Court, featuring court's opinions and orders, calendar and schedules, rules, news releases and general information.
Supreme Court of the United States Blog
A law blog written by lawyers, law professors, and law students about the Supreme Court of the United States
PBS: The Supreme Court: Landmark Cases
These cases have had a profound impact on all areas of American life, including education, law enforcement, taxes, and privacy.

Library Catalog

To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:

Destiny Search

Supreme Court of the United States Procedures

Craig Benzine talks about what happens when a case makes it to the Supreme Court of the United States (or the SCOTUS).

Recent Supreme Court's Landmark Rulings

From ABC News, recent landmark Supreme Court rulings are discussed.

Landmark Supreme Court Cases - ABDO Series

The Bakke Case : quotas in college admissions.

Brown v. Board of Education : equal schooling for all.

Bush v. Gore : controversial presidential election case.

Cipollone v. Liggett Group : suing tobacco companies.

District of Columbia v. Heller : the right to bear arms case.

The Dred Scott Case : slavery and citizenship.

Engel v. Vitale : separation of church and state.

Epperson v. Arkansas : the evolution-creationism debate.

Ferrell v. Dallas I.S.D. : hairstyles in schools.

Gibbons v. Ogden : controlling trade between states.

Sherrow, Victoria. Gideon v. Wainwright : free legal counsel.

Hazelwood v. Kuhlmeier : censorship in school newspapers.

Korematsu v. United States : Japanese-American internment camps.

Loving v. Virginia : interracial marriage.

Marbury v. Madison : powers of the Supreme Court.

Marriage Equality : Obergefell v. Hodges.

Miranda v. Arizona : rights of the accused.

New Jersey v. T.L.O. : drug searches in schools.

New York Times v. Sullivan : affirming freedom of the press.

New York Times v. United States : national security and censorship

Plessy v. Ferguson : segregation and the separate but equal policy.

Roe v. Wade : the abortion question.

Schenck v. United States : restrictions on free speech.

Miller, J. Anthony. Texas v. Johnson : the flag-burning case.

The United States v. Nixon : the Watergate scandal and limits to US presidential power.

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Books

Contemporary Supreme Court Cases
Call Number: 342.73 LIV
Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court Profiles eighty-eight cases ranging from 1803 to 1999, with sections on the decision, the background, the vote, highlights, excerpts, and the impact of the case in each entry.
Call Number: 347.73 MAU
Landmark Supreme Court Cases Features more than six hundred important and influential cases in United States history, and includes summaries and analyses of cases on such issues as freedom of speech, freedom of the press, civil rights, labor unions, abortion, due process, search and seizure, executive privilege, and more.
Call Number: 347.73 LEI
Landmark Supreme Court Cases Profiles seventy-four landmark Supreme Court cases that have had a profound impact on American history and society; each case summary features information to assist in identification of the issue, year of decision, outcome, vote, and author of the opinion.
Call Number: 347.73 LIV
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States Presents over twelve hundred articles on all areas of the history and operation of the United States Supreme Court including biographies of the justices and important cases and issues.
Call Number: 347.73 OXF
The Supreme Court of the United States Presents alphabetically arranged entries on the U.S. Supreme Court, including its chief and associate justices, historically significant cases, core concepts, ideas and issues, legal terms and phrases, procedures, practices, personnel, and building.
Call Number: 347.73 PAT