World War I
Also known as The Great War, World War One, The War to End all Wars, and World War, 1914-1918
Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.
This is just a small sampling of recommended websites:
To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:
The 20th Century, 1901-1940
Contains essays that examine significant events in the history of the early twentieth century from 1901 to 1907, covering world politics, society and culture, literary movements, art and music, immigration, and legislation; arranged chronologically with maps, illustrations, and quotations for primary souce documents.
World War I
A visual history of the people, politics, events, weapons, technology, and major conflicts of World War I.
.
Daily Life During World War I
Presents an account of the daily lives of military personnel and civilians in France, Britain, Germany, and America during World War I, discussing recruitment and training, the experience of battle, the home front, food, bereavement, and other topics.
History of World War
This 3 volume set chronicles the events of World War I; examines its causes; discusses technologies and tactics, the home fronts, the arts and the media, and the war's legacy in Germany, the rest of Europe, the U.S., and around the world; and provides photos, color maps and sidebars.
History in Dispute: World War I
Addresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on World War I. Includes an overview of an issue related to the historical events of World War I followed by two opposing opinions. Arranged alphabetically by topic.
The Encyclopedia of World War I
Contains over 1,500 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on the political, social, and military history of World War I, covering battles, weapons, wartime conferences, the causes of the war, historical debates, and other topics; includes biographies, maps, photographs, illustrations, charts, tables, and a selection of related documents. 5 v.
The Great War and Modern Memory
A study of the British experience on the Western Front from 1914 to 1918, looking at the literary means by which the war has been remembered, conventionalized, and mythologized.
Poets of World War I
Describes the World War I poets Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon, and others who used poetry to explain their experiences in the war.
Lusitania: an epic tragedy
Presents an account of the sinking of the luxury liner "Lusitania" on May 7, 1915 by a German torpedo, examines events that led to the attack that claimed the lives of some twelve hundred people, and looks at how the sinking affected the course of World War I.
All Quiet on the Western Front by
Depicts the experiences of a group of young German soldiers fighting and suffering during the last days of World War I.
Above the Dreamless Dead: World War I in Poetry and Comics
A collection of World War I British trench poetry by poets such as Wilfred Owen, Rudyard Kipling, and Thomas Hardy, reinterpreted in graphic novel format by cartoonists such as Garth Ennis, Phil Winslade, and Katherine and Stuart Immonen.
Remember:
Encyclopedia of World Biography