World War II
Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
A 4-volume reference work offering detailed information about the Holocaust, its causes, process and impact on the victims.
History in Dispute: The Holocaust, 1933-1945
Contains thirty groups of essays, each of which includes an overview of an issue related to the Holocaust, followed by two opposing opinions, arranged alphabetically by topic.
The Complete History of the Holocaust
Essays describe several aspects of the Holocaust, including its background, the ghettos, the concentration camps, the victims, resistance efforts, rescuers, the aftermath, a chronology and other topics.
Learning about the Holocaust
Presents more than three hundred alphabetical, cross-referenced entries, including more than one hundred biographical sketches, on the Holocaust; also includes a time line, glossary, list of resources, and collection of primary source documents in last volume.
To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:
The 20th Century, 1901-1940
Contains essays that examine significant events in the history of the early twentieth century from 1901 to 1907, covering world politics, society and culture, literary movements, art and music, immigration, and legislation; arranged chronologically with maps, illustrations, and quotations for primary souce documents.
The 20th Century, 1941-1970
Presents essays that examine significant events in the history of the mid-twentieth century, from 1941 to 1947, covering world politics, society and culture, literary movements, art and music, immigration, and legislation; arranged chronologically with maps, illustrations, and quotations from primary source documents.
History in Dispute: World War II, 1939-1942
Contains over thirty groups of essays, each of which includes an overview of an issue related to the historical events of World War II in the years between 1939 and 1943, followed by two opposing opinions. Arranged alphabetically by topic.
The Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of World War II
An account of the events leading up to, including, and immediately following the war in a generally chronological order. 10 v. Separate index in last volume.
World War II: the Definitive Visual History
A visual history of the people, politics, events, weapons, technology, and major conflicts of World War II.
Page One: The Front Page History of World War 2
Contains reproductions of the front pages of "The New York Times," that feature some of the most significant stories of World War II, from Germany's invasion of Poland to the surrender of Japan.
The Encyclopedia of World War II
Contains over 1,500 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on the political, social, and military history of World War II, covering battles, weapons, wartime conferences, the causes of the war, historical debates, and other topics; includes biographies, maps, photographs, illustrations, charts, tables, and a selection of related documents. 5 v.
Twentieth-Century America: World War II, 1939-1945, Primary Source
Arranged chronologically, this set consists of primary source material in the form of original news articles and photographs from the Asscociated Press. 9 v.
The Historical Atlas of World War II
Contains 170 maps that chart the course of World War II, and includes photographs and information on key events in the six-year history of the conflict.
Americans at War: Society, Culture and the Homefront, v. 3 1901-1945
A 4 volume encyclopedia set on the impact of war on American society from the first conflicts between Native Americans and Europeans to the Iraq War, containing four hundred alphabetized, cross-referenced entries, more than two hundred illustrations, and approximately ninety primary documents.
Remember:
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. 17 v.
American National Biography
Contains alphabetically arranged articles that provide biographical information about men and women whose lives and careers have influenced the course of American history, focusing on the key achievements of individuals who died before 1996; each with a descriptive bibliography.
Dictionary of American History
American Decades, 1940-1949
An exploration of American life from 1940 through 1949, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports.
UXL Encyclopedia of U. S. History, 8 v.
Introduces the timeline of America: its founders, key historical figures, wars, events, political environment, economy, and culture.