The Great Depression
Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.
Remember:
UXL Encyclopedia of U. S. History, 8 v.
Introduces the timeline of America: its founders, key historical figures, wars, events, political environment, economy, and culture.
Dictionary of American History
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. 17 v.
American National Biography
Contains alphabetically arranged articles that provide biographical information about men and women whose lives and careers have influenced the course of American history, focusing on the key achievements of individuals who died before 1996; each with a descriptive bibliography.
Covers many topics on U.S.history (University of Houston)
Timeline of the Great Depression
A timeline of events from American Experience on PBS
America in the Twentieth Century
American Decades, 1930-1939
A decade-by-decade exploration of American life in the twentieth century, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts and many other areas.
American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945
Adddresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on major historical events during this time period.
Childhood in America
Girlhood in America
Twentieth-Century Teen Culture by the Decades
The Value of a Dollar 
American Heritage Magazine - one of the oldest and most respected popular U.S. history magazines, provides high quality writing on the American experience. (Located on the lower shelves of the 973 AME section. Use the navy blue master index volume to find an article.)
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms
A 5 volume set, describes examples of the commerce, fashion, film and theater, food and drink, music, print works, sports and games, and other markers of popular culture in America during the twentieth century, and includes topical and alphabetized tables of contents and a chronology spanning 1900-1999.
Daily Life in the United States, 1920-1939
Examines what daily life was like for ordinary people in the U. S. in the 1920s and the 1930s, discussing the impact of automobiles, electricity, radio, cinema, conflict and crime, the standardization of culture, the Great Depression, and the New Deal on the lives of American citizens.
The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Recounts the events, movements, court cases, documents, and important figures that make up women's history in America since colonial times, with over five hundred entries arranged in alphabetical order.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture
Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
For Appearance' Sake: Historical Encyclopedia of Good Looks, Beauty...
Presents more than three hundred alphabetized entries on people, companies, and topics related to grooming and attractiveness around the world.
From Ballots to Breadlines, v. 8
Growing up in Twentieth-Century America
Working Americans, 1880-1999
Describes economic trends in America from 1880 through 1999 and profiles thirty-four families from a wide variety of time periods, geographical settings, ethnic backgrounds, and economic classes, describing their annual incomes and budgets as well as their lives at home, at work, and in the community.