Nashua North Media Center: U.S. History: Home

Recommended Databases

American History (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) This link opens in a new window Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.
World History: Modern Era (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's Explora This link opens in a new window Covering many topics, the interface for this database of magazine, newspaper and journal articles is designed for high school students.
Ebsco's Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A college level database of 4,650 journals covering many subjects
Britannica School Online This link opens in a new window Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Call Number: 320.473 ENC
Encyclopedia of World Biography Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed. 17 v.
Call Number: 920 ENC
American National Biography Contains alphabetically arranged articles that provide biographical information about men and women whose lives and careers have influenced the course of American history, focusing on the key achievements of individuals who died before 1996; each with a descriptive bibliography.
Call Number: 920.073 AME
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: 973.03 DIC
UXL Encyclopedia of U. S. History, 8 v. Introduces the timeline of America: its founders, key historical figures, wars, events, political environment, economy, and culture.