Nashua North Media Center: Contemporary Global Studies: Human Rights

Recommended Databases

Gale in Context: High School (Gale) Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) Magazine and newspaper articles on controversial issues, many in pro/con format. Excellent informational graphics
Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences (ABC-Clio) Includes more than 300 primary sources illustrating the progression and outcome of genocide, as well as first-hand accounts that depict its impact on societies and the lives of individuals. Covers 10 modern genocides in depth.
EBSCO (Ebsco) Magazine and newspaper articles on a wide variety of subjects. Includes Explora plus academic, business DBs and ERIC.
World Geography (ABC-Clio) Geographical, political, social, economic and cultural information on 200 countries plus maps and biographies. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
World History: Modern Era (ABC-Clio) In-depth coverage of the history of all regions of the world from 1500 to the present. Includes primary and secondary sources, illustrations, maps, etc. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
Britannica School Online Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,

To access databases remotely, click here for login information

Suggested Websites

Amnesty International A global movement of more than 7 million people who campaign for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all.
Anti-Slavery International - Slavery Today An international non-governmental organization that promotes the eradication of slavery and slavery-like practices, and freedom for everyone who is subjected to them.
Human Rights Watch An international non-governmental organization that provides news, analysis and resources from human rights perspective.
International Federation for Human Rights An international network of Human Rights organizations whose aim is to obtain effective improvements in the protection of victims, the prevention of Human Rights abuse and the prosecution of those responsible.
United Nations Human Rights Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) promotes and protects all human rights.
United Nations Human Rights: List of Human Rights Issues From the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
What is Genocide?

Primary Sources

IWitness
Access over 1,500 video narratives of survivors and witnesses to the Holocaust and other genocides.

Genocide & Persecution Series

Afghanistan 958.104 AFG

Bosnian War and Ethnic Cleansing 949.703 LOW

Cambodia 959.604 CAM

Chile 983.065 CHI

Darfur Genocide 962.7043 LOW

East Pakistan 954.9205 PAK

El Savador & Guatemala 972.8405 SAL

Genocide in Armenia 956.6201 LOW

Holocaust 940.5318 HOL

Indonesia 959.8035 IND

Khmer Rouge's Genocidal Reign in Cambodia 959.604 LOW

Kosovo 949.7103 KOS

Kurds 956.00491 KUR

Liberia 966.6203 LIB

Nazi Regime and the Holocaust 904.5318 LOW

People's Republic of China 951.05 PEO

Rwandan Genocide 967.571 LOW

South Africa 968.06 SOU

Sri Lanka 954.93 SRI

Uganda 967.6104 UGA

The Story of Human Rights (Youth for Human Rights)

Reference Books

Freedom in the World 2021
Call Number: 323.11 FRE 2021
Genocide and International Justice by Rebecca Joyce Frey
Call Number: 345.0251 FRE
World at Risk
Call Number: 300 WOR

Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Human Rights Action Center

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Search Strategies

Search Terms/Strings (Use for SIRS, EBSCO and Google or other search engine)

(Name of Country) human rights

Subject Headings or Keywords (Use for online catalog)

human rights
(Name of country) [choose titles with recent publication dates]
(Name of country) human rights

Contemporary Global Studies: Human Rights

English & Social Studies