Nashua North Media Center: English 1: Call of the Wild

Recommended Databases

American History (ABC-Clio)
Includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings, along nearly 3,300 biographies of famous political and military figures. Cite as Original Content in NoodleBib.
Britannica School Online Made for today’s digital classroom, with extensive, up-to-date information sources. Allows students to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed. The content is reliable, age-appropriate, updated continuously and closely correlated to all curriculum standards,
Gale in Context: High School (Gale) Covering most subject areas, it includes articles from reference books, magazines and newspapers, primary sources, criticism, audio and video clips, websites, etc.

Use this list of usernames and passwords to access our databases from home.

Suggested Websites

Klondike Gold Rush (National Park Service)
Remembering the trails, boom-towns, and stories of the Klondike Gold Rush.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Basic information on the land and people of the Yukon Territory.

E-References

Novels for Students - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Each volume provides discussions of the literary and historical background of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes concise synopses of plot, characters and themes, a brief author biography, discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance, and excerpted criticism.

Library Catalog

To access the traditional Destiny Search screen with Resource Lists, click the link below:

Destiny Search

The Call of the Wild

Jack London's classic novel Call of the Wild tells the story of a kidnapped dog forced into the life of a sled dog—all told from the dog's perspective. (UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History. vol. 2. UXL, 2009.)

Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Dog Breeds by Juliette Cunliffe
Call Number: 636.7 CUN

Publication Date: 2003-08-01

More than a reference book, it's beautifully illustrated and contained text enables all breeds to be quickly and easily identified; providing essential facts on each breed.
Dogs: The Ultimate Dictionary of Over 1,000 Dog Breeds
Call Number: 636.7 MOR

Details the origins and characteristics of dogs with a special sections on sled dogs and wolf / dog hybrids.
Novels for Students, Vol. 8
Call Number: 809.3 NOV

Provides a concise synopses of plot, characters and themes, a brief author biography, discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance, and excerpted criticism.
Literature and Its Times: 18890-1930s. Vol. 3
Call Number: 809.93358 LIT

Contains profiles of three hundred notable literary works, relating them to the historical context in which they were written and in which they are set; arranged alphabetically by title. See vol. 3.
Great American Writers: Twentieth Century
Call Number: 810.9 GRE

Presents alphabetized profiles of ninety twentieth-century American writers of fiction, nonfiction, drama, poetry, and song lyrics, describing their lives, careers, major works, and creative inspirations and providing select bibliographies, lists of further resources, photos, and full-color artwork.
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: 973.03 DIC

Contains 4,434 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about the facts, events, trends, and policies of American history, covering political, economic, military, and social developments; and features a selection of primary documents, photographs, maps, and cross-references. 10 v.
American Decades, 1878-1899
Call Number: 973.8 Ame

A decade-by-decade exploration of American life in the twentieth century, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts and many other areas.
American Decades, 1900-1909
Call Number: 973.9 AME

An exploration of American life from 1900 through 1909, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports.
A Cultural History of the United States Through the Decades: The 1900s
Call Number: 973.9 CUL

Discusses the political, economic, and cultural life of the United States in the first decade of the twentieth century, including daily life, labor relations, the conservation movement, and transportation.

Cite Your Sources

Remember:

Citations from databases can be exported directly to NoodleTools (the exception is Britannica)
Use the Quick Cite (Copy and Paste) to add citations from Britannica.
Articles in reference books often have the author's name at the end of the article
If you have forgotten your password click the I forgot my password link under the Sign In box.
NoodleTools can now cite content created using AI like Chat GPT.

Search Strategies

Website Evaluation

Always check for a website's authority, content, currency and purpose before using it for a research project. Use the following checklist to make sure you're getting high-quality information from a reliable source:

Website Evaluation Checklist

Other Useful Books

Dogs: A Startling New Understanding of Canine Origin, Behavior & Evolution
Call Number: 636.7 COP

Examines dogs from the perspective of biology, focusing on how dogs evolved and developed according to their purpose and environment into modern household dogs, village dogs, livestock-guarding dogs, sled dogs, or herding dogs.
Born to Pull: The Glory of Sled Dogs
Call Number: 636.73 CAR

An illustrated overview of the history of sled dogs that features stories of about the Iditarod race, the John Beargrease Sled Dog Marathon, and other sled tours, along with stories from veteran mushers in Minnesota on training, dog care, and related topics.
The Streets Were Paved with Gold
Call Number: 797.803 COH

No gold rush in history could match the Klondike Rush of 1896-99 in the almost insane drive of people to conquer distance and weather conditions to reach the rich deposits of placer gold in the frozen, barren area of the Klondike River in the Yukon Territory of northern Canada.
Alaska (Insight Guide)
Call Number: 917.9804 ALA

A guide to visiting Alaska, providing information about the attractions, landscape, parks, and other aspects of the state.
Precious Dust
Call Number: 970.04 MAR

A cultural, sociological, and historical chronicle of the American frontier during the Gold Rush period in the nineteenth century.